Peru or Bust, one couple's journey to represent USA abroad and aid in ways small and large.

If you are bored with this site, it's not my fault.

NSFW, Guinea Pig Murder..

with 4 comments

This was my first go at dispatching (aka, putting down) our friendly cuy (guinea pig) friends before prepping them for dinner.  The Chop Technique is and has been used by my hostfamily for years, but I think I can be a lot more quick and efficient with other neck snapping means.

Written by galbavy

January 10, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, reminds me of my youth, when my mom used to kill the rabbits….sometimes just knocking it against the building to break its neck helps also….

    Judy Browne/Stewart Bingham

    January 12, 2013 at 3:35 pm

  2. This is definitely something I didn’t think i’d see today. Guinea Pigs, huh? How does it compare?

    Billy

    January 21, 2013 at 5:42 pm

    • Compare to what? ..squirrel, yeah, I guess it’s kinda similar. It’s really based on the age of the rodent and how slowly you cook the thing. The younger ones that are very slow roasted are relatively tender, though it’s alot of skin… and when they get older they get a little bigger but harder to chew through. Not alot of muscle tissue nonetheless. But known to be real healthy animals. Give it a try.

      galbavy

      January 23, 2013 at 11:52 am

  3. […] another post about putting down a poor guinea pig but this one is hopefully quite a bit more then just chagrining..  Here I visit w Consuela, the pro at preparing and cooking cuy (guinea pig) to see the steps of […]


Leave a Reply

